Skip to main content

Adding users to a completed course

Why can’t I add someone to my class?

You should be able to add people to your own course if you’re the teacher. If a course has been concluded, the Add People function is disabled (the +People button is grayed out). Do not despair! You can still add someone to your course using any of the following methods:

Method 1:

– Go to the course settings, uncheck the box that says “Users can only participate in the course between these dates,” and click the Update Course Details button to save.

– Go to the People area and add a user as you normally do, using their NetID (the +People button will no longer be grayed out).

– Go to the course settings, check the box that says “Users can only participate in the course between these dates,” and click the Update Course Details button to return the course to its previous concluded state.

Method 2:

– Go to the course settings and create a new section in the course, with start and end dates that you determine.

– Go to the People area and add the user to that section. This will not affect the other people in the course.

Method 3:

– Request a prep site, then copy the course material into the prep site, and add the user to the prep site.

Method 4:

– Go to the course settings and change the start and end dates on the course .

– Go to the People area and add a user as you normally do (the +People button will no longer be grayed out).

NOTE: This method changes the dates for everyone in the class, so students can participate in it again.